skip navigation

Legends for Kids Scholarship winners announced

02/02/2017, 6:00am CST
By Sanford Media Relations

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. – A new class of outstanding high school seniors has been selected to receive the second annual Legends for Kids Scholarship. The scholarship is a $5,000 award that recognizes high school student athletes for their exceptional character in leadership in athletics and school involvement.

Developed in conjunction with Hy-Vee/Sanford Legends, the scholarship program was created by Hy-Vee, Sanford and First PREMIER with support from Argus Leader Media and KELOLAND Television. Recipients must use the scholarship for post-secondary education.

The following graduating seniors were selected based on nominations from coaches, teachers and administrators:

  • Kylie Bertram – Flandreau
  • Logan Hansen – Viborg-Hurley
  • Bailey Rudebusch – Howard
  • Joie Spier – Rutland
  • Rachael Laetsch – McCook Central
  • Jadyn McCready – Wolsey-Wessington
  • Logan Mahoney – Parkston

The Hy-Vee/Sanford Legends program provides learning opportunity for young student-athletes to grow and be inspired in the world of sports by providing different sporting clinics and camps. Each year, celebrity athletes who represent the Legends goals—quality, integrity and character—are brought to Sioux Falls.

Tag(s): News